Oléron, rollerski paradise

12 Jul

After the business trip to Spain I stopped at the Island of Oléron. Sharp contrast with Granada. In Andalusia I had a pancake flat bike path. The only thing that slowed me down were temperatures hitting 40+ degrees Celsius.  In spite of the terrible heat I kept my speed up over 20 km/h with slow wheels. A new record.

The next day, at Oléron, I found the sea breeze and a completely different kind of path. As swooped through the Oléron pine forest I could imagine myself on a Norwegian ski trail. There were quick climbs and drops, sharp turns and the occasional rough bit of asphalt better to avoid. Beautiful forest routes with just enough nervous tension to make them interesting. A totally unexpected rollerski paradise. Highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

