Rollerski Markkleeberg, Germany

2 Oct


Work took to me to Halle in Germany. As I always do when I travel, I brought my rollerski gear. A German colleague who inline skates took me to the best spot in the area, the Markkleeberg lake.

The image above comes from an FIS Rollerski World Cup competition there in June this year. In addition to artificial rapids for whitewater rafting and kayaking, the pavement around the Markkleeberger See is wide and perfect.

I did a couple blissful laps around the lake before darkness fell. It was damp out but not raining, so pretty good weather by German standards.

We then headed to the lakeside bar for non-alcoholic beer before an hour’s drive back to Halle. As you can see, I was happy with the experience:

I look strangely paunchy in the picture but promise it’s an illusion. Typical German fare consisting of beer, kebab and currywurst couldn’t ruin me that quick!

Leave a Reply

