Test-driven rollerskiing

20 Sep

Gave a programming course at NTNU last Thursday. The theme was test-driven software development, but the example I used was rollerski related. The example code takes as input the raw GPS data (latitude, longitude, elevation) collected by the RunKeeper iPhone application. From that data it calculates speed and spits it out in a form I can plot with MatLab’s free clone FreeMat:

The tricky part of the software is coming up with a filter to eliminate GPS bad reading “noise” and also smoothing out the speed plot out using the Ramer-Douglas-Peucker algorithm. The start of this was my desire to use more sophisticated tools to analyze my progress climbing Grefsenkollen.

I turned out to be a good example for the subject. Here’s my ppt slide deck, which should be cryptic since I try to limit my presentations to 50 printed words or less to avoid reading to my audience.

Leave a Reply

