101 Wankers – tales of badly behaved motorists

20 Aug

I love this blog. Got featured today in the Guardian. I’ve puzzled over the motivations behind motorist’s bad reactions to rollerskiing. Dawn Foster shares similar stories of abuse from rude and, moreover, sexist drivers.

In the article she states something that rings true with my own experience on four little rollerski wheels:

The sight of me whizzing away on two wheels seemed to increase some people’s boldness to the point where they’d shout insults they’d never dare express to people who would have the time to stop and challenge them.

The fact that she, as a woman, gets even more abuse than I do confirms my impression the issue is fundamentally about power. But beyond merely using it to fuel my car-hating psychological speculations, I find her blog to be a fun and cathartic read.

Leave a Reply

