Food for a busy lifestyle

17 Aug

So it’s hard to eat right with all the training I do. For proteins I nearly live on reindeer. It’s as eco-friendly as meat gets and convenient to boot. Here in Norway it comes in a bag, frozen and thin sliced. I fry up an onion and then shake out into the skillet the quantity matching my hunger. A couple glugs of whatever I’m drinking (usually non-alcoholic Clausthaler) go in to ward off dryness. Just put it on rice or with peas and I’m a happy boy.

One of my other faves is my Norwegian adaptation of Pasta Putanesca. Originally conceived for a, well, busy and active lifestyle, the recipe fits my schedule too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion
  • 1 box of chopped tomatoes with garlic
  • some capers
  • some sliced black olives
  • a pinch of Spanish chorizo chilli powder
  • 1 big tin of mackerel in tomato sauce (‘Makrell i tomat’)

Instructions:

Sauté the onion in some olive oil. When it’s tender, add the chopped tomatoes. Then add the capers, olives and the chilli powder. I picked up the chorizo style powder at an outdoor market in Spain. It has a great smoky flavor that just makes the recipe. If you can get Mexican food products, some chopped chipotles in adobo sauce would work great. Otherwise, just add some good hot sauce to taste.

Then add the mackerel and hack it up with a spatula. The real Italian recipe calls for tuna, but you can’t get good canned tuna in Norway and it’s full of mercury to put little holes in your brain anyhow. Maybe good for letting the bad memories escape through, but probably not otherwise helpful.

I get the sauce done in the time required to boil up the pasta.

Leave a Reply

