Virtual rollerskiing

29 May

The Internet provides rich opportunities for Rollerski information gathering. If the rain stops today as yr.no predicts, then I’ll check a new route up to Linderudkollen. I was out running in the forest yesterday and again saw the ski jump towers high on the other side of the valley.

I thought to myself that it would be nice to rollerski up there, but had doubts about the road quality. Happily I was able to check it out using Google’s street view. I’d earlier seen in person that the road was really bad heading out that way. But with my virtual tour yesterday I determined that that it gets considerably better after the first intersection going toward Solemskogen.

So this will be a change from my regular route up Grefsenkollen. Since I usually go up there “on the clock” with the GPS app running on my phone, I can’t stop and take a picture. But there’s a solution for that. The Internet virtual tour even gives you a glimpse of the views down on the city:

The Street view capture car went before the latest asphalt upgrade and on a cloudy day. But other than that, doing the virtual trip lets you see more or less what I do.

Leave a Reply

