Reflections on a season past

15 May

There may be a season to everything but I’d rather not turn, turn, turn. And I don’t much like the sun either because the snow under it goes away. But I can’t be nasty at this point. This past season has been good to me.

First, it started early. My skis hit the snow on 5 October 2009 in Sjusjøen and I ended my season at the same place 30 April 2010. That works out to 6 months and 10 days. I will have thus spent more of the year skiing than not. Here’s the map from my last trip.

This has been a season of accomplishments. I participated in a couple of ski races and went from slow to respectable. I even won the company ski championship but suspect that’s only because my employer’s best skier (a girl, no less) did not participate.

I made headway with both classic and skate technique. A pair of helpful lessons stopped me from doing weird things with my poles when going classic and a lot of practice helped me learn the fast and efficient doubledans skate technique.

All this was made possible by a second exceptional winter in a row. This time around precipitation was low but cold temperatures preserved the snow. It’s still eminently possible to ski in parts of the Olso forest right now but professional obligations are making me speak of the season in past tense. In the age of global warming I realise that I’ve been lucky and am grateful for what I got. The cold force of winter is a fragile and precious thing.

As a cap on the season I thought I’d post some pictures from this winter past that I never published:

Early winter's cold grip in North Nordmarka (Gjerdingen area)

Easter magical mist-ery tour in Krokskogen

Coq à la crète noire tracks at Søndre Heggelivann

Coq à la crête noire tracks at Søndre Heggelivann

A real coq à la crête noire (Willow Ptarmigan - L. lagopus) spotted in the snow at Sjusjøen

2 Responses to “Reflections on a season past”

  1. Ray May 20, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    Look at the duck!

    • fallwest May 20, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

      Mmmmmmmm…..forbidden snow-duck….

Leave a Reply

