I am the snow man

1 Apr

Interesting but finally positive problem this morning: a lot of new snow making for slow going. When I started out the trail looked like this with light drizzle falling:

I was the first over the new prepped corduroy and since it was still relatively cold, the going was fast and the glide was good. However as I climbed things got snowier:

Mind you, new snow is good. New snow is wonderful. I was happy to go slow. I was thrilled that my poles were losing grip in the fresh soft stuff. But it did slow me down a bit.

After a nice 10km full of effort, here’s what the world looked like at my turning around point and all was right with the world:

I’m looking forward to returning tomorrow.

Trip details:

  • Temp: +1C to -1C drizzle to heavy falling snow.
  • Style: Skate.
  • Distance: 20km
Leave a Reply

