From red klister to fluffy new snow

22 Mar

Went from Sørkedalen Skole up to Oppkuvann. That’s up more than 389 meters.  The snow at the bottom was rained on then sun baked wet slush. Since I don’t have any red klister (too sticky and disgusting for me to consider buying it), I made do with silver universal klister. That gave me no grip meaning I had to pole-haul myself up the mountain. Then, when I arrived in the higher reaches of the trail, it got cold and my klister froze. Between those two points I had adequate grip for a whole 10 meters.

The pain and suffering aside, it did me a lot of good to touch the 600 meter point and take refuge in a landscape still locked in the full embrace of winter.

Temperatures were dropping on my way back down and the slush was freezing up solid. That gave me rocket speed sliding back down to my start point.

Leave a Reply

