Skate training

1 Mar

They have now started to prep my local trail for skating. The machine now makes two passes, one on each side, prepping the trail double wide. This means I can now skate without running over the classic ski tracks on each side:

Since I don’t like it when people skating hack up the tracks, I refuse to do it myself.

The other big development for me is that I’ve started using the “dobbeldans” technique in which you pole to both sides instead of to just one side while skating:

This is a higher tempo technique that is good on flats and near flats. Before I didn’t have the balance, timing and coordination needed to do it.

Leave a Reply

