Dodgy water, good snow

17 Feb

Oslo has had its second crisis in three years with drinking water. The water plant at Oset on the Maridalsvannet lake has suffered a breakdown. Residents are now advised to boil water. There has however been no bacteria detected in the incoming water, so I’m not bothering.

My ski trip last night took off from just behind the water plant. It lies on the other side of the valley from where I live. Seems that the trail prepper on the East side is more assiduous than the one near where I live.

While West side trails have been suffering from excessive use and have bare spots scraped free of snow by snowploughing masses, the East side trail up to Movatn is being kept in beautiful shape.

The route up to Movatn is perfect for training with wide trails and moderately long climbs that are all diagonal-going–no herringboning. Coming back down the whole route is manageable without any speed reduction. A few ups and downs, but mostly downs where you can just stay in the trackset and glide.

The one steeper spot has given me the opportunity to test my downhill skills. My speed and my feeling of control have both increased. I’ve finally learned to dare to unlock my legs and step-turn through turns on the steeper runs. That has made all the difference in the world.

Trip details:

  • Wax: Rode Blue Multi-grade (-3 to -7C)
  • Temp: -4C with light falling snow
  • Style: Classic.
  • Distance: 21km
Leave a Reply

